Final Results

HUNTSVILLE, ALA -- Southern University men's and women's track and field strong starts at the 2016 SWAC Outdoor Championship aided in producing a fourth and fifth place finish respectively.

The Lady Jaguars secured a fifth place finish with a final point total of 76. Alabama State, who tallied 176.5 points, repeated as SWAC champions, earning the leagues triple crown - winning cross-country, indoor and outdoor titles in same season. Grambling (127.0) and Prairie View A&M (103.5) round out the meet's top three finishers.

Led by Reginald Redding, who won the Most Outstanding Field Performer after racking up 28 points through three events, Southern scored 102 points and posted a fourth place finish behind Texas Southern's 150.5 total, Jackson State's 106.6 and Alabama State's 106.0. The Jaguars led the 3-day event after Day 1 and was in second place after Saturday.

Redding won the men’s hammer throw with a toss of 50.83m and claimed his second first place finish  in as many days, claiming the Shot Put event with a heave of 15.50m. Lawrence Williams outdueled Arkansas-Pine Bluff’s Miles Dortch in the javelin, as Williams won it with a toss of 57.77 meters and joined Redding as Southern's first team All-Conference selections.

Akil Bennett, who finished third in the decathalon, also earned All-Conference honors as a second team selection. Desmond Thomas (Pole Vault, 2nd), Tylor Lighten (100m Dash, 2nd; 4x100 relay, 2nd), Darell Nettles (100m Dash, 3rd; 4x100 relay, 2nd), Yanik Duffus (4x100 relay, 2nd) and Jaylin Thomas (4x100 relay, 2nd) received All-Conference second team honors.

Among the Lady Jaguars signature performances, Southern’s Jamira Russ and Georgeanna Felder finished 1-2 in the women’s shot put, as Russ won it with a toss of 49.05m. Felder finished runner-up with a distance of 47.96m, beating out third-place finisher Sireta Roach of Arkansas-Pine Bluff (47.86m) by 0.1 meter.

Russ earned the Jaguars lone top finish on the women's side and was named to the 2016 All Conference first team. Felder joined Russ on the All-Conference team as a second team selection, along with jumper Ashley Shepard who took second in the long jump with a leap of 5.86m. 

Lori Davis (Alabama State)
Sade Lavallias (Alabama State)
Quinta Collier (Alabama State)
Jamira Russ (Southern)
Sireta Roach (Arkansas-Pine Bluff)
Kadijah Gordon (Alabama State)
Latoya Gilding (Jackson State)
Jada Curbeam (Prairie View)
Keanna McIntyre (Alabama A&M)
Creshonda Carter (Grambling)
Chellane Jones (Grambling)
Takyra Beverly (Grambling)
Ja’lyn Simon (Grambling)
Brandee Ebert (Alabama State)
Monica Howard (Alabama State)
Deonca Bookman (Prairie View)
Tatiana Etienne (Alabama State)
Artrailia Lesane (Alabama State)
Dana Broadnax (Grambling State)

Ashley Shepard (Southern)

Georgeanna Felder (Southern)
Darlene Desmangles (Grambling)
Shakalia Williams (Alabama State)
Christine Powers (Prairie View)
Camirey Jackson (Prairie View)
Kenya Wheeler (Grambling)
Chelsea Prather (Alabama A&M)
Tradeshia Conner (Alcorn State)
Chinyere Mbonu (Alcorn State)
Jada Hunt (Alcorn State)
Jasmine Robinson (Alcorn State)
Halima Chepkwony (Grambling)
Taylor Sunkett (Alabama A&M)
Shantia Wilson (Alabama State)
LaKeia Hill (Mississippi Valley)
Dynasty Williams (Alcorn State)
Husniyyah Rogers (Prairie View)
Takara Coleman (Prairie View)
Brandalyn Williams (Prairie View)

Hassan Chepkwony (Grambling)
Lawrence Williams (Southern)
Reginald Redding (Southern)
Maurice Jones (Alabama A&M)
Drayton Rolle (Texas Southern)
Romello Nalepa (Mississippi Valley)
Travis Sanders (Texas Southern)
Tevin Kimble (Texas Southern)
Bentrell McGee (Jackson State)
Deshaun Allen (Jackson State)
D’Andre Lewis (Texas Southern)
Justin Cooper (Arkansas-Pine Bluff)
Malique Smith (Arkansas-Pine Bluff)
Jamael McTear (Grambling)
Jawalyn Brooks (Texas Southern)
Jerrel Wilson (Arkansas-Pine Bluff)
Juwan Parker (Arkansas-Pine Bluff)

Aaron Albert (Mississippi Valley)
Miles Dortch (Arkansas-Pine Bluff)
Terrell Perry (Texas Southern)
O’Shane Shaw (Alabama State)
William Gordon (Alcorn State)
Harvey Kendall Jr. (Texas Southern)
Akil Bennett (Southern)
Aaron Austin (Prairie View)
David Parker (Grambling)
Samuel Omoera (Prairie View)
Logan Williams (Prairie View)
Bryont Brown (Alabama State)
Tylor Lighten (Southern)
Jerrel Wilson (Arkansas-Pine Bluff)
Shane Martin (Mississippi Valley)
Raheem Skinner (Jackson State)
Yanik Duffus (Southern)
Jaylin Thomas (Southern)
Darrell Nettles (Southern)
Desmond Thomas (Southern)
Darwin Allen (Prairie View)
Brandon Kirby (Prairie View)
William Polley (Prairie View)