Springhill Suites
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Courtesy: Southern U. Athletics

Blackston named to All-SWAC second team

Courtesy: Southern U. Athletic Media Relations
Release: 11/06/2013
Print RSS

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - In a season in which Southern soccer captured the program's first SWAC Western division title, the Jaguars picked up another award Wednesday.

Forward Jami Blackston, who led the Jaguars in goals and points, earned second team All-conference honors. Southern will face Alabama A&M in the quarterfinals of the 2013 SWAC Tournament at the Houston Amateur Sports Park Thursday at 10 a.m. 

The Southwestern Athletic Conference released its 2013 All-SWAC Women's Soccer teams Wednesday with Alabama State trio, Aaliyah Lewis, Ariela Lewis and Kylee Hathaway sweeping the individual accolades.

The selections were voted on by the league's head coaches and sports information directors. Twenty-five players total this year's post season teams with freshman forward Aaliyah Lewis receiving Offensive Player of the Year. Lewis' twin sister, midfielder Ariela, was selected Freshman of the Year while junior goalkeeper Kylee Hathaway was tabbed Defensive Player of the Year. All three helped lead Alabama State to the program's first SWAC Eastern Division crown with a 12-6 record and 4-0 mark in the conference. ASU closed out the regular season with a nine-game win streak.

Aaliyah Lewis led the SWAC and the Lady Hornets in goals (16), shots (61), shots per game (3.39), points (38), and points per game (2.1). Ariela Lewis topped the league in assists (9) and matched her sister in the SWAC in game-winning goals with three.

After completing last year on the SWAC Soccer Second Team, Hathaway finished 2013 with 107 saves and tied a league best in shutouts with five.

Alabama State leads the post season honors with seven student-athletes selected while six were named to the first team. Jackson State and Mississippi Valley State followed with three picks each. Prairie View A&M and Arkansas-Pine Bluff had two representatives with Texas Southern rounding the list out with one.

Aaliyah Lewis, Ariela Lewis and Kylee Hathaway also garnered first team honors and were joined by teammates Anastasia McCleary, Iita Pienimaki and Alexandria Cannon.

The first team also includes: Ana Huertas (Alabama A&M), Nykosi Simmons (Mississippi Valley State), Rayana Speight (Jackson State), Molly Stone (Arkansas-Pine Bluff) and Angie Guillory (Prairie View A&M).




Aaliyah Lewis – Alabama State
Angie Guillory – Prairie View A&M
Alexandria Cannon – Alabama State

Ana Huertas – Alabama A&M
Ariela Lewis – Alabama State
Anastasia McCleary – Alabama State
Nykosi Simmons – Mississippi Valley State

Rayana Speight – Jackson State
Molly Stone – Arkansas-Pine Bluff
Iita Pienimaki – Alabama State


Kylee Hathaway – Alabama State


Estelle Esperance – Alabama A&M
Kimberlie Hernandez – Jackson State
Jami Blackston – Southern

Jalana Ellis – Jackson State
Hailey Beekman – Mississippi Valley State
Celene Batrez – Prairie View A&M
Marlyn Campa – Texas Southern

Bianca Vigliante – Mississippi Valley State
Andrea Chacon – Alabama A&M
Samantha Bruno – Alabama State


Alyssa Cobbs – Arkansas-Pine Bluff

Member Login