Devon Gales Fund
Springhill Suites
Jag A Thon
Article Image
Courtesy: Southern U. Athletics

Doss named to CFPA 2013 Watch List

Courtesy: Southern U. Athletic Media Relations
Release: 05/21/2013
Print RSS

CHARLOTTE, N.C. -- College Football Performance Awards, the largest awards organization in D-I college football, recently announced its watch list for the 2013 CFPA FCS Wide Receiver Award, and Southern wide receiver Lee Doss earned a spot on the list.

The preliminary watch list highlights thirty-four returning performers, vying for the top wide receiver award in the Football Championship Subdivision.

Doss, a product of St. Augustine High School in New Orleans, led the Jaguars in receptions (65), yards (703) and TDs (8) in 2012.

"Congratulations to Lee Doss on joining teammate Dray Joseph on the 2013 CFPA Watch List," stated CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. "Heading into 2013, the Joseph-Doss tandem gives the Jaguars one of the nation's most formidable passing combinations."

All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

Currently, there are 111 CFPA recipients listed on official 2013 NFL rosters. More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections. Current CFPA winners performing as NFL wide receivers include: Dez Bryant, Tavon Austin, Golden Tate, Justin Blackmon, Kendall Wright, Leonard Hankerson, Ryan Broyles, Damian Williams, Chris Summers, Joe Adams, Danario Alexander, Eric Page, Brian Quick, Aaron Mellette, Brandon Kaufman, Reggie Dunn, and Da'Rick Rogers.

Last season, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel earned the 2012 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy, while Harvard quarterback Colton Chapple earned the 2012 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy. Multiple award presentations were broadcast live nationally on ESPN, CBS, Fox Sports, Big Ten Network, Pac 12 Network, as well as internationally on BYUtv.

The full list of 2013 recipients, including the 2013 CFPA FCS Awards, will be announced on January 8, 2014.

For more information, visit the Official CFPA Website (http://www.collegefootballperformance.com). Follow CFPA on Twitter @CFPerformance.

Member Login