Dec. 1, 2005

The Southwestern Athletic Conference announced its 2005 All-Conference Team, and three Southern Jaguars were honored with first team All-SWAC selections, and one with second team honors. The team was selected by nominations and votes from the member schools' coaches and sports information contacts.

Offensive lineman, Lunda Wells, earned first team honors, garnering All-SWAC honors for the first time in his career. Wells, a co-captain, was a key component in helping the Jaguars average 288 yards per game passing, 2nd in the SWAC. The senior from Baker, LA, is currently in graduate school at Southern, pursuing a Master's Degree in Criminal Justice.

Joe Sykes, earns first team defensive line honors for his play for Southern this season. Sykes, a transfer from West Virginia, came in a contributed immediately, leading the SWAC with nine sacks, while finishing third on the team in tackles with 53, and a team leading 16 tackles for loss yards. Sykes is a Therapeutic Recreation major, from Grenada, MS.

Co-captain, James Vernon, earns 2005 first team All-SWAC honors as the punt returner. Vernon led the SWAC and was 2nd in Division I-AA, averaging 18.7 yards per return. Vernon went 85 yards for a punt return touchdown in the Bayou Classic. This marks the second consecutive season that Vernon has eanred All-SWAC honors. In 2004, James Vernon earned 1st team honors as a wide receiver.

Grambling State quarterback, Bruce Eugene and Mississippi Valley State linebacker Tyler Knight, took top Offensive and Defensive honors. Arkansas-Pine Bluff's, Mickey Dean, took top rookie honors, and SWAC Newcomer of the Year is Hakeem Muhammad of Prairie View A&M.

All ten member institutions had at least two players receive all-conference review. Grambling State had the most players selected for the all-conference teams with 11 players chosen (four on first team). Mississippi Valley State had the most first-team selections with six players receiving first-team honors and eight players chosen total. Alcorn State had eight all-conference selections (five on first team). Alabama A&M had seven players receive all-conference honors (three on first team). Southern had four players (three first-team choices) chosen for all-conference awards. Alabama State and Arkansas-Pine Bluff each had four players receive accolades with one each on first team. Jackson State (two first-team awards), Texas Southern (one first-team selection), and Prairie View A&M each had two players receive all-conference honors.


OL-Jonathan Lowe, Alcorn State - 6-3, 330, Sr., Shreveport, LA
OL-SeDarrin Freeman, Arkansas-Pine Bluff - 6-4, 350, Sr., Easton, TX
OL-Jonathan Banks, Grambling State - 6-8, 360, Sr., Baton Rouge, LA
OL-Richard Burch, Mississippi Valley State - 6-5, 320, Sr., Brandon, MS
OL-Lunda Wells, Southern - 6-2, 320, Sr., Baker, LA
QB-Bruce Eugene, Grambling State - 6-1, 260, Sr., New Orleans, LA
RB-Jeremy McCoy, Alcorn State - 6-1, 213, Jr., Dallas, TX
RB-Brent Wilson, Texas Southern - 5-11, 180, So., Silver Spring, MD
TE-Tabari Lott, Alcorn State - 6-6, 225, Jr., Gautier, MS
WR-Alvance Robinson, Alabama State - 5-9, 165, Sr., Dayton, OH
WR-Tyrone Timmons, Mississippi Valley State - 6-3, 210, Jr., Tampa, FL
PK-Joseph Blanco, Mississippi Valley State - 5-9, 180, So., Houston, TX
KR-Charlie Spiller, Alcorn State - 6-0, 183, Jr., Woodville, MS

DL-Malasta Hill, Alabama A&M - 6-4, 225, Sr., Stone Mountain, GA
DL-Martin Jackson, Alcorn State - 6-4, 250, Jr., New Orleans, LA
DL-Jason Hatcher, Grambling State - 6-6, 285, Sr., Jena, LA
DL-Joe Sykes, Southern - 6-5, 270, Sr., Grenada, MS
LB-Johnny Baldwin, Alabama A&M - 6-1, 225, Jr., Bessemer, AL
LB-Tyler Knight, Mississippi Valley State - 6-0, 210, Jr., North Little Rock, AR
LB-Jarette Prout, Mississippi Valley State - 6-0, 220, Sr., Boothville, LA
DB-Corey Harden, Alabama A&M - 6-0, 188, Sr., Macon, GA
DB-Jermaine Mills, Grambling State - 6-1, 180, Sr., Baton Rouge, LA
DB-Cletis Gordon, Jackson State - 6-2, 195, Sr., Amite, LA
DB-Vincent Dancy, Jackson State - 6-3, 218, Jr., Shuqualak, MS
P-Trey Butts, Mississippi Valley State - 5-11, 190, Sr., Brandon, MS
PR-James Vernon, Southern - 6-0, 175, Sr., Baton Rouge, LA

Freshman of the Year --
Mickey Dean, Arkansas-Pine Bluff - 6-0, 200, Fr., Little Rock, AR

Newcomer of the Year --
Hakeem Muhammad - Prairie View A&M - 5-10, 175, So., Dallas, TX

Offensive Player of the Year --
Bruce Eugene - Grambling State - 6-1, 260, Sr., New Orleans, LA

Defensive Player of the Year --
Tyler Knight - Mississippi Valley State - 6-0, 210, Jr., North Little Rock, AR

2005 All-SWAC Second Team

OL-Jeffrey Johnson, Alabama A&M - 6-2, 294, Jr., Grand Bay, AL
OL-Antonio Regist, Alabama A&M - 6-3, 340, So., San Antonio, TX
OL-Ryan Beneby, Alabama State - 6-4, 350, Sr., Jacksonville, FL
OL-Jackie Skipper, Arkansas-Pine Bluff - 6-1, 290, So., Bastrop, LA
OL-Andre' Bennett, Grambling State - 6-6, 350, Jr., Vicksburg, MS
QB,Tarvaris Jackson, Alabama State - 6-2, 232, Sr., Montgomery, AL
RB-Mickey Dean, Arkansas-Pine Bluff - 6-0, 200, Fr., Little Rock, AR
RB-Ab Kuuan, Grambling State - 5-11, 230, Sr., Sylacauga, AL
TE-Tim Abney, Grambling State - 6-1, 210, So., Monroe, LA
WR-Charlie Spiller, Alcorn State - 6-0, 183, Jr., Woodville, MS
WR-Henry Tolbert, Grambling State - 6-0, 205, Jr., Birmingham, AL
PK-Jose Osorio', Alabama A&M - 5-10, 231, Jr., College Park, GA
KR-Albert Turner, Southern - 5-7, 155, Jr., Baton Rouge, LA

DL-Kelvin Lockhart, Alabama A&M - 6-1, 310, Jr., Tallahassee, FL
DL-Kerry Frazier, Alabama State - 6-2, 226, Sr., Nashville, TN
DL-Patrick Okoye, Arkansas-Pine Bluff - 6-4, 270, Sr., Arlington, TX
DL-Matt Duhe', Grambling State - 6-4, 225, Sr., Baton Rouge, LA
LB-Lester Mosley, Alcorn State - 6-0, 235, So., Birmingham, AL
LB-Dimitri Carr, Grambling State - 6-2, 232, Sr., Farmerville, LA
LB-Robert Napier, Texas Southern - 6-3, 250, Jr., San Bernardino, CA
DB-Quentin Sullivan, Alcorn State - 5-8, 186, Sr., Collins, MS
DB-Greg Fassit, Grambling State - 6-1, 190, Jr., New Orleans, LA
DB-Chris Wilson, Mississippi Valley State - 5-8, 170, Jr., Memphis, TN
DB-Hakeem Muhammad, Prairie View A&M - 5-10, 175, So., Dallas, TX
P-Eric Hernandez, Prairie View A&M - 6-1, 185, Jr., Pleasanton, TX
PR-Clarence Cotton, Mississippi Valley State - 5-10, 190, So., D'Iberville, MS